Tender

My entry for The Daily Post’s daily prompt –  Tender:

 

I opened up my secret door,

please won’t you come and step inside,

I thought I couldn’t any more,

I thought the one inside had died.

 

Then you revealed another me,

the one you see through kinder eyes,

the one you look at lovingly,

the one you like to my surprise.

 

And so we start along the road,

a road which I have come to fear,

yet somehow with a lighter load,

now you are by my side my dear.

 

Come take my hand and stroll a while,

let’s make this walk the best one yet,

each day with you a country mile,

a journey we shall not forget.

 

I pass to you the best of me,

not what I ought yet what I must,

a bet I placed with destiny,

I tender you my fragile trust.

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Tender

Add yours

  1. I think this is lovely… I love this verse:

    “Come take my hand and stroll a while,

    let’s make this walk the best one yet,

    each day with you a country mile,

    a journey we shall not forget.”

    Like

Please feel free to leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

